





Scientific Council Fifty-ninth Session

Flash talk sessions (6–8 December 2022) + recommendations (13 Dec.) 3 November 2022

AGENDA FLASH TALK SESSIONS (by Web conference) – Revision 1

Time ¹	DAY 1: Tuesday	DAY 2: Wednesday	DAY 3: Thursday				
	6 December 2022	7 December 2022	8 December 2022				
15:30-15:35	Welcome and introduction by the Director						
Secretariat to assign SC and IARC personnel to respective Branch Breakout rooms							
15:35-17:15	Introduction by Branch	Introduction by Branch	Introduction by Branch				
	Head (max. 3') followed by	Head (max. 3') followed by	Head (max. 3') followed by				
	projection of one pre-	projection of one pre-	projection of one pre-				
	recorded "flash talk" ²	recorded "flash talk" ²	recorded "flash talk" ²				
	(max. 3') including	(max. 3') including	(max. 3') including				
	"take away message"	"take away message"	"take away message"				
	followed by its discussion	followed by its discussion	followed by its discussion				
	(max. 5')	(max. 5')	(max. 5')				
	Session 1 – Branches:	Session 2 – Branches:	Session 3 – Branches:				
	CSU, ENV, ESC	GEM, EGM, LSB	EPR, LCB				
17:15-17:30	SC members only	SC members only	SC members only				
	Discussion on	Discussion on	Discussion on				
	recommendations	recommendations	recommendations				
	(for final drafting on	(for final drafting on	(for final drafting on				
	13 December)	13 December)	13 December)				

Time	DAY 4: Tuesday 13 December 2022 Drafting of Overall recommendations for SC/59		
15:30-17:30	 SC members invited to compile recommendations + SC Chair and Vice-Chair + Director, Véronique Chajès (Programme Officer, DIR Office), Olivier Exertier (Consultant, DIR Office – MTS Evaluation), Agnès Meneghel (GBM Coordinator) CSU: Ferrán CATALÁ LÓPEZ*; Manami INOUE [SC Chair]; Valery LEMMENS ENV: Jeanette FALCK WINTHER; Pietro PICHIERRI; Ben SPYCHER ESC: Mathilde TOUVIER*; Ravi MEHROTRA; Einas Abudlaziz Eid AL KUWARI GEM: William GALLAGHER; Jong Bae PARK; Gunilla ENBLAD EGM: Walter BERGER; Luis Felipe Ribeiro PINTO; Satish GOPAL LSB: Péter NAGY; Sergey A. IVANOV EPR: Louisa GORDON; Marc ARBYN; Kalipso CHALKIDOU [unable to attend on 08/12] LCB: Jie HE; Karima BENDAHHOU; Sirpa HEINÄVAARA 		

¹ Lyon time indicated for ease of reference (see table below for other time zones)

*Unable to attend

² Pre-recorded videos of the presentations will be made available on the INDICO platform by mid-September 2022 for SC members to watch in their own time

NB: three reviewers from the SC have been assigned to <u>NME</u> within the framework of its quinquennial Review (to be held remotely on 23–27 January 2023): Tone Bjørge, Ulrike Haug and Marie-Elise Parent, who will not review flash talks for other Branches.

List of SC members assigned to IARC Branches

<u>The new SC members</u> (starting in 2023) have been assigned to a Branch together with at least one current SC member.

Three reviewers have been assigned per Branch (except LSB with two reviewers) and are kindly requested to review all flash talks (5 maximum) of the Branch they have been assigned to (available from: <u>https://events.iarc.who.int/event/55/page/32-flash-talks</u>).

In bold and highlighted, SC members invited to compile recommendations for DAY 4

Date	Branch	Name of SC members	
6 Dec. 2022	CSU	Ferrán CATALÁ LÓPEZ*; <mark>Manami INOUE;</mark> <u>Valery LEMMENS</u>	
6 Dec. 2022	ENV	Jeanette FALCK WINTHER; Pietro PICHIERRI; Ben SPYCHER	
6 Dec. 2022	ESC	Mathilde TOUVIER*; Ravi MEHROTRA; <mark>Einas Abudlaziz Eid AL KUWARI</mark>	
7 Dec. 2022	GEM	William GALLAGHER; Jong Bae PARK; Gunilla ENBLAD	
7 Dec. 2022	EGM	Walter BERGER; Luis Felipe Ribeiro PINTO; Satish GOPAL	
7 Dec. 2022	LSB	Péter NAGY; Sergey A. IVANOV	
8 Dec. 2022	EPR	Louisa GORDON; Marc ARBYN; Kalipso CHALKIDOU	
8 Dec. 2022	LCB	Jie HE; <mark>Karima BENDAHHOU;</mark> <u>Sirpa HEINÄVAARA</u>	
23–27 Jan.	NME	Tone Bjørge + Ulrike Haug + Marie-Elise Parent + 3 external experts	
2023	(Review)		

*Unable to attend

Branches assigned to SC members

SC members	Review all flash talks for	
Einas Abudlaziz Eid AL KUWARI	ESC	
Marc ARBYN	EPR	
Karima BENDAHHOU	LCB	
Walter BERGER	EGM	
Tone BJØRGE	NME Review	
Ferrán CATALÁ LÓPEZ	CSU	
Kalipso CHALKIDOU	EPR	
Gunilla ENBLAD	GEM	
Jeanette FALCK WINTHER (new SC member)	ENV	
William GALLAGHER	GEM	
Satish GOPAL (new SC member)	EGM	
Louisa GORDON	EPR	
Ulrike HAUG	NME Review	
Jie HE	LCB	
Sirpa HEINÄVAARA (new SC member)	LCB	
Manami INOUE	CSU	
Sergey A. IVANOV	LSB	
Valery LEMMENS (new SC member)	CSU	
Ravi MEHROTRA	ESC	
Péter NAGY	LSB	

SC members	Review all flash talks for	
Marie-Elise PARENT	NME Review	
Jong Bae PARK	GEM	
Pietro PICHIERRI	ENV	
Luis Felipe Ribeiro PINTO	EGM	
Ben SPYCHER (new SC member)	ENV	
Mathilde TOUVIER	ESC	

Recommendations from SC/58 (2022):

- The SC recommends that the Branch Heads give a short overview of the general scientific activities within each Branch before the presentation of the flash talks.
- The SC recommends including a take-away message at the end of all presentations.
- The SC recommends having some talks which more specifically illustrate cross-branch structure and inter-disciplinary interactions.

Time zone by country

Australia (Brisbane)	00:30 - 02:30
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Morocco (Casablanca), Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland	15:30 – 17:30
Brazil (Rio de Janeiro)	11:30 - 13:30
Canada (Québec), USA (Rockville, MD)	09:30 - 11:30
China (Beijing)	22:30 - 00:30
Finland (Helsinki)	16:30 - 18:30
India	20:00 - 22:00
Ireland (Dublin)	14:30 - 16:30
Japan (Tokyo), Republic of Korea	23:30 - 01:30
Qatar (Doha), Russian Federation (Obninsk)	17:30 – 19:30