





Scientific Council
Sixtieth Session

SC/60/10 2 February 2024

Lyon, 7–9 February 2024 Auditorium

LIST OF MEMBERS AND OTHER PARTICIPANTS

Scientific Council Members

Dr Einas Abdulaziz Eid Al Kuwari (Qatar)

Chairperson, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Hamad Medical Corporation Doha

Dr Marc Arbyn (Belgium)

Coordinator, Unit Cancer Epidemiology Belgian Cancer Centre 1050 Brussels

Professor Walter Berger (Austria)

Center of Cancer Research and Comprehensive Cancer Center Medical University Vienna

Professor Mohamed Berraho (Morocco)

Directeur, Institut de Recherche sur le Cancer (IRC), Fès

Dr Valeriy V. Breder (Russian Federation)

N.N. Blokhin National Medical Research Center of Oncology

Ministry of Health of the Russian Federation

Dr Ferrán Catalá López (Spain)

[Unable to attend]

Health Planning and Economics National School of Public Health Institute of Health Carlos III, Madrid

Professor Kalipso Chalkidou (UK)

[Unable to attend]

Visiting Professor, Imperial College London Head, Health Finance The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria 1218 Grand-Saconnex, Switzerland

Dr Roberta De Angelis (Italy)

Head, Unit of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics

Department of Oncology and Molecular Medicine

Istituto Superiore di Sanità (ISS), Rome

Professor Jeanette Falck Winther (Denmark)

[Unable to attend]

Head of Research Group *Childhood Cancer*Danish Cancer Society Research Center
(DCRC), Copenhagen

& Department of Clinical Medicine, Faculty of Health, Aarhus University & University Hospital

Professor David Gisselsson Nord (Sweden)

Lund University, Division of Clinical Genetics Department of Laboratory Medicine, Lund

Dr Satish Gopal (USA)

Director, Center for Global Health National Cancer Institute Rockville, MD 20850

Professor Louisa Gordon (Australia)

QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute Royal Brisbane Hospital, Q4029, Brisbane

Professor Jie He (China) [remotely]

President, National Cancer Center of China Beijing 100021, China

Dr Sirpa Heinävaara (Finland)

Cancer Society of Finland Finnish Cancer Registry, Helsinki

Dr Manami Inoue (Japan) - Chairperson

Chief, Division of Prevention

National Cancer Center Institute for Cancer

Control, Tokyo

Professor André Karch (Germany)

Institute of Epidemiology and Social Medicine
University of Münster, Münster

Dr István Kenessey (Hungary)

Head of center, National Cancer Registry National Institute of Oncology, Budapest

Professor Young-Woo Kim (Republic of Korea)

Director of Research Institute of National Cancer Center Goyang-si Gyeonggi-do

Professor Valery Lemmens (Netherlands)

Integraal Kankercentrum Nederland, IKNL Utrecht

Dr Prashant Mathur (India)

Director, National Centre for Disease Informatics and Research Indian Council of Medical Research Department of Health Research Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt. of India, Bengaluru

Professor Marie-Elise Parent (Canada)

Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit
Centre Armand-Frappier Santé
Biotechnologie
Institut national de la recherche scientifique
Université du Québec, Laval

Dr Luis Felipe Ribeiro Pinto (Brazil) - Vice-Chairperson

Head, Molecular Carcinogenesis Program Brazilian National Cancer Institute (INCA) Rio de Janeiro

Professor Pål Richard Romundstad (Norway)

Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) 7491 Trondheim

Professor Orla Sheils (Ireland)

Vice-Provost/Chief Academic Officer Professor of Molecular Diagnostics Trinity St James's Cancer Institute, Trinity College, Dublin

Dr Ben Spycher (Switzerland)

Senior Researcher, Head of Research Group Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern

Dr Mathilde Touvier (France)

Sorbonne Paris Nord University, INSERM, INRAE, CNAM Nutritional Epidemiology Research Team (CRESS-EREN), Bobigny

Governing Council

Professeur Norbert Ifrah, GC Chairperson [remotely]

Président, Institut national du Cancer (INCa) 92513 Boulogne-Billancourt, France

Dr Mara Burr, GC Vice-Chairperson

No affiliated with the Government of the USA anymore. As this capacity cannot be delegated, there is currently no GC Vice-Chairperson

WHO, Geneva

Dr Bente Mikkelsen [remotely]

Director, Noncommunicable Diseases World Health Organization CH Geneva

Ms Holly Moore

Senior Legal Officer World Health Organization CH Geneva

Observers

Union for International Cancer Control (UICC)

Dr Sonali Johnson

Head, Knowledge Advocacy and Policy UICC, CH 1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Centre Léon Bérard

Professor Jean-Yves Blay

Directeur Général Centre Léon Bérard, F 69373 Lyon Cedex 08

Professor Beatrice Fervers

Chef de Département Prévention Cancer Environnement Centre Léon Bérard, F 69373 Lyon Cedex 08

IARC Secretariat

Dr Elisabete Weiderpass, Director