





Scientific Council Sixty-first Session SC/61/9 12 February 2025

Lyon, 12–14 February 2025 By Web conference

LIST OF MEMBERS AND OTHER PARTICIPANTS

Scientific Council Members

Dr Einas Abdulaziz Eid Al Kuwari (Qatar)

Chairperson, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Hamad Medical Corporation Doha

Dr Ali Saeed Al-Zahrani (Saudi Arabia)

Research and Innovation Group King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Specialist Hospital & Research Centre MBC 03, P.O. Box 3354 Riyadh 11211, Saudi Arabia

Professor Walter Berger (Austria)

Center of Cancer Research and Comprehensive Cancer Center Medical University Vienna

Professor Mohamed Berraho (Morocco)

Directeur, Institut de Recherche sur le Cancer (IRC), Fès

Dr Valeriy V. Breder (Russian Federation)

N.N. Blokhin National Medical Research Center of Oncology

Ministry of Health of the Russian Federation

Dr Roberta De Angelis (Italy)

Head, Unit of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics

Department of Oncology and Molecular Medicine

Istituto Superiore di Sanità (ISS), Rome

Professor Hesham Elghazaly (Egypt)

Professor of Clinical Oncology at Ain Shams Medicine Head of Presidential Initiative of Woman's Health; BGICS President; Director of Faculty of Medicine Ain Shams Research Institute (MASRI)

Professor Adam Grant Elshaug (Australia)

Centre for Health Policy, Level 5, 207 Bouverie St University of Melbourne, Victoria 3010 Australia

Professor David Gisselsson Nord (Sweden)

Lund University, Division of Clinical
Genetics
Department of Laboratory Medicine,
Lund

Dr Satish Gopal (USA) – *Unable to attend*

Director, Center for Global Health National Cancer Institute Rockville, MD 20850

Professor Jie He (China)

President, National Cancer Center of China Beijing 100021, China

Dr Sirpa Heinävaara (Finland)

Cancer Society of Finland Finnish Cancer Registry, Helsinki

Professor André Karch (Germany)

Institute of Epidemiology and Social Medicine
University of Münster, Münster

Dr István Kenessey (Hungary)

Head of center, National Cancer Registry National Institute of Oncology, Budapest

Professor Young-Woo Kim (Republic of Korea)

Director of Research Institute of National Cancer Center Goyang-si Gyeonggi-do

Professor Valery Lemmens (Netherlands)

Integraal Kankercentrum Nederland, IKNL Utrecht

Dr Prashant Mathur (India)

Director, National Centre for Disease
Informatics and Research
Indian Council of Medical Research
Department of Health Research
Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt.
of India, Bengaluru

Professor Marie-Elise Parent (Canada)

Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie Institut national de la recherche scientifique Université du Québec, Laval

Dr Luis Felipe Ribeiro Pinto (Brazil) – Vice-Chairperson

Head, Molecular Carcinogenesis Program Brazilian National Cancer Institute (INCA) Rio de Janeiro

María-José Sánchez Pérez (Spain)

Director of the Granada Cancer Registry Professor and Director of Research & Consultancy at Andalusian School of Public Health

Scientific Director of the Biomedical Research Institute of Granada & Coordinator of the Epidemiology and Prevention of Chronic Diseases Area at CIBERESP, Carlos III Institute

Granada, Spain

Professor Pål Richard Romundstad (Norway)

Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) 7491 Trondheim

Professor Orla Sheils (Ireland)

Vice-Provost/Chief Academic Officer Professor of Molecular Diagnostics Trinity St James's Cancer Institute, Trinity College, Dublin

Professor Tatsuhiro Shibata (Japan)

Chief, Division of Cancer Genomics, National Cancer Center

Professor, Laboratory of Molecular Medicine,

Human Genome Center, The Institute of Medical Science, The University of Tokyo

Dr Ben Spycher (Switzerland)

Senior Researcher, Head of Research Group Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern

Professor Richard Sullivan (United Kingdom)

Institute for Cancer Policy, Centre for Cancer, Society and Publich health, King's College London, Guy's Hospital Campus, ondon, UK

Dr Mathilde Touvier (France)

Sorbonne Paris Nord University, INSERM, INRAE, CNAM Nutritional Epidemiology Research Team (CRESS-EREN), Bobigny

Professor Eric Van Cutsem (Belgium)

University Hospitals Gasthuisberg & KULeuven, Herestraat 49, 3000 LEUVEN, Belgium

Governing Council

Professor Norbert Ifrah, GC Chairperson

Président, Institut national du Cancer (INCa) 92513 Boulogne-Billancourt, France

Professor Dorothy Keefe, GC Vice-Chairperson

Chief Executive Officer, Cancer Australia Surry Hills NSW 2010, Sydney, Australia

WHO, Geneva

Dr Guy Fones

Acting, Director, Noncommunicable Diseases Department World Health Organization CH Geneva

Ms Holly Moore – *Unable to attend*

Senior Legal Officer World Health Organization CH Geneva

Observers

Union for International Cancer Control (UICC)

Dr Sonali Johnson

Head, Knowledge Advocacy and Policy UICC, CH 1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Centre Léon Bérard

Professor Beatrice Fervers

Chef de Département Prévention Cancer Environnement Centre Léon Bérard, F 69373 Lyon Cedex 08

IARC Secretariat

Dr Elisabete Weiderpass, Director